Dec. 17th, 2009

bellapalmera: (Default)
Something that's been bothering me for a while is the level of disrespect shown at church. The kids in the youth group are constantly chatting during service. Prayer? They talk through it. Worship music? They don't sing, they just talk. Sermon? Like they have a clue what Clark's talking about. Really, kids? It's an hour of your life. If you can't shut up for an hour then something is wrong with you. Seriously. I mean, we all make side comments to our friends. We all send the occasional text message when we're not supposed to. But the whole time? Really???? Oh and don't get me started on the time they wrote stupid stuff all over the sign in sheet. There are times and places to be completely and utterly immature. I do so very frequently. But... you can curb that for an hour, right? :(

However, last night something happened that made these kids look like perfect angels. Also perhaps might have explained why they think this is okay. I went to the childrens' Christmas program. It was a bunch of cheesy songs, random hymns for the congregation to sing, and a couple of corny skits. I can see how some may find this boring, and I don't doubt that would have included myself. But I do not lie when I say that AT LEAST one-third of the audience was talking the entire time. These are grown adults here, y'all. I mean, I might as well have been in a high school cafeteria during lunch period. Slight exaggeration, but I'm not sure how to accurately convey the level of disrespect that was shown. I was really appalled. I mean for one thing, as a member of the audience who was actually attempting to pay attention, I couldn't hear everything that was going on. There was one skit I didn't hear at all because they only gave one person a mic, and the other kids are certainly loud enough not to need them, but apparently the assumption was that there wouldn't be a chatting audience in the background!!!! So yeah, no clue if that skit was good, and I actually knew all the kids in it so I would have liked to see/HEAR that one especially. For another thing, these poor kids! They work so hard to put on this show and they have to get on the stage to hear this crap? How would you feel? I would be so pissed if I could tell that nobody was even paying attention to my performance.

I wrote a facebook status about it last night and I was a little worried that I had been too harsh, but then the childrens' director at the church "liked" it. I had also texted the youth pastor during the show (yeah, I know) and he came up to me afterwards and was like "Amen to your text!" So I'm pretty sure I am validated here, lol. It's just really sad that adults can't even set that good example and show some respect (and in a CHURCH for crying out loud). It wasn't the little children, they were all in the show... and it wasn't the youth, most of them weren't even there unless they were in the show. Crying babies are one thing, but omg ADULTS.

Thank you for reading this, you get a gold star.
bellapalmera: (Default)
[livejournal.com profile] shypoet, this will answer your question on my fb, haha.

I am not sure this whole Yaz business is working out. I'm gonna complete the starter pack just so I know how it affects my actual period, and because I don't want to rule something out after a mere 4-5 days, but I have been getting really tired and having ridiculously weird thoughts (my post about never falling in love? where did THAT come from???) and I had to leave work early today because I kept thinking about how I feel like I'm losing my damn mind and I started crying. I'm taking this stuff to STOP crying for no reason, not to cry for no reason at other parts of the month. Gosh.

This sucks, y'all.

Profile

bellapalmera: (Default)
bellapalmera

April 2020

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728 2930  

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 07:17 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios