Jan. 2nd, 2006

bellapalmera: (Default)
Meh, normally I do a day by day recap of these things, but a)Nobody gives a crap about that, and b)I really don't feel like putting forth that much effort this time.

OK, so, the road trip up to Atlanta was relatively traffic-free except for one spot. We had to do this scavenger hunt with our cameras and my car LOST. Oh well. So I ended up rooming with Meredith and Andrea... it was cool because I haven't seen Meredith in 124124124 years and I don't know Andrea really well. Um, the meetings were cool. Good speakers for sure. Last year I didn't like all the speakers so it was good that I did this year. The Shoemaker Showdown was lame, Michelle got robbed! There actually WAS a day of outreach this year and that was good... I don't feel like we accomplished a whole lot, but that God still did use each of us in some way. (I got to speak Spanish again!) The seminars were good even though I slept through 2 of them. Centennial Park was great! Lots of fun. And I missed like 95% of the New Year's Party, which I am kinda pissed about even though it was my fault (mostly) but I lost track of time and yeah. It's like, I want to spend time with more than one of my friends ya know? Oh well, if I was going to miss the party from hanging out with someone too much, I'm glad it was that particular person. And the trip back was awesome, even if most of the fun was a result of something bad happening.

So what did I learn... well for the most part I was blown away by what I saw God doing. There's a guy in our group who has just become a Christian in the last year, and I had actually met him a few times through friends and on Move In Team so I knew who he was before he was a Christian. It just made me cry to see someone who this time last year was not a Christian, to this year lifting his hands during the worship songs. I love that God can do that to people! I wish I could allow God to do that in me. I've been pretty lackluster in my Christianity for a while and it sucks. But yeah, and listening to what people got to do for God through various mission trips and activities on their campuses... it was good stuff. The one thing I actually learned though, came at 10:56 pm on the last day, after we'd done our sharing at campus time. I've always been really ashamed of the fact that I'm not up to par on my quiet times, prayer, sharing my faith, etc. and God finally told me that He understands and that someday He is going to make me totally ready to do all that stuff but until then I don't need to be ashamed of that because He forgives me. That's not to say that I can just keep putting that stuff off, but it's a big step for me and I've been a Christian for freakin 5 years already! So yeah, that was nice.

One of the things I had mentioned when I shared during the last campus time is that on my very first Christmas Conference at our very first campus time, I had said something to the effect of "I want this to be the thing that kicks me into gear" and I'm pretty sure it wasn't, so for my very last Christmas Conference to have done that for me... pretty cool that I came full circle huh?

Overall I had a great time... I was in a REALLY BAD MOOD last night when we got back but I won't let that overshadow the experience. So there's my update... oh and there are pictures kicking around the internet somewhere.

Profile

bellapalmera: (Default)
bellapalmera

April 2020

S M T W T F S
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728 2930  

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 03:22 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios